top of page

North Star High School congratulates athletic finest

North Star top athletes  pose for group photo.
Major award winners at the 2023-24 North Star High School athletic awards were (top row, from left): Kyle Jones, Ben Buchner, Traven Fines, Rhys Sharman, Isiah Rusenstrom, Owen Scott. Back row (from left): Ada Faber, Lily Mulder, Hanna Coulson, Madison Drouillard, Jerzie Rego and Emily Beauregard.

The best of the best of North Star High School sports was honoured last week at the school’s athletic banquet.

Held last Thursday night at the Ciociaro Club, North Star paid tribute to the students who made up the teams and/or competed in the various individual sports throughout the 2023-24 school year. Among the highlights were an OFSAA bronze medal for the senior girls volleyball team, three track and field athletes qualifying for OFSAA, the football team winning the Hogan’s Printing/Penalty Box Bowl, four swimmers qualifying for OFSAA, numerous all-star team selections and athletes who qualified for SWOSSAA in their sports.

“Our athletes and coaches worked countless hours to make it a successful year,” said North Star athletic department head Lisa Voakes.

Voakes also thanked parents and guardians for playing a crucial role this year, with vice principal Jason Lynn also offering similar thanks. Lynn offered “a heartfelt thank you to the parents and families” for their sacrifices, stating the athletes couldn’t compete without their support.

Lynn paid tribute to the teachers and coaches as well.

“North Star is a better place because you give your time and expertise to coach,” said Lynn.

Players may not remember many of the individual game results, but Lynn noted they will remember the bonds they made, goals they scored and fun they had.

MAJOR AWARDS    Male Athlete of the Year – Kyle Jones

Female Athlete of the Year – Lily Mulder

Top Male Student-Athlete – Rhys Sharman

Top Female Student-Athlete – Emily Beauregard

Most Dedicated (Male) – Ben Buchner

Most Dedicated (Female) – Jerzie Rego

Athlete-Plus (Male) – Owen Scott

Athlete-Plus (Female) – Madison Drouillard

Sportsmanship (Male) – Traven Fines

Sportsmanship (Female) – Hanna Coulson

Spirit Award (Male) – Isiah Rusenstrom

Spirit Award (Female) – Ada Faber


Male – Drew Shank, Ryan Reid, Ashton Fevreau, Wakan Rainville, Jake Beaudoin

Female – Tyler Lamarche, June Buchner, Ashley Mongeau, Rayah Crawford, Ava Mayrand


Sr. Girls Basketball – Jerzie Rego (MVP), Morgan Hadfield (Most Dedicated Player)

Sr. Boys Volleyball – Rhys Sharman (MVP), Traven Fines (Coaches Award)

Football – Kyle Jones (Dave Scott Team MVP), Ashton Fevreau (John Rudak Offensive Player of the Year), Steven Craner (Defensive Players of the Year), Ethan Keresztyen (Lineman of the Year)

Cross Country – Emma Rudling (Award of Excellence), Autumn Triolet (Rookie of the Year)

Tennis – Ryan Cipkar (Coaches Award)

Golf – Ben Buchner (Award of Excellence), Lauren Bondy (Most Improved)

Sr. Boys Basketball – Rhys Sharman (MVP), Ashton Adkin (Most Improved)

Sr. Girls Volleyball – Emily Beauregard, Lily Mulder (Awards of Excellence)

Girls Hockey – Hanna Coulson, Madison Drouillard (Corey Meloche Outstanding Leadership Awards)

Boys Hockey – Wyatt Jackson, Cole McGrath (Coaches Awards)

Swimming – Hannah Wilcox (Award of Excellence)

Boys Soccer – Jack Prieur (Coaches Award), Ryan Reid (MVP)

Girls Soccer – Gemma Goldman (Most Dedicated), June Buchner (MVP)

Sr. Badminton – Kyle Jones, Emily Beauregard (MVPs)

Track and Field – Tyler Lamarche (Outstanding Performer), Lauren Kelly (Coaches Award), Lily Mulder (Coaches Award), Wakan Rainville (Rookie of the Year)

Girls Software – Lily Mulder (Award of Excellence), Madison Drouillard (Coaches Award)

Boys Baseball – Kyle Jones, Owen Scott (MVPs)

Ultimate Frisbee – Charlotte Simon, Tyson Bondy (Most Dedicated Awards)

Dance – Sophie Rivait, Ava Argoselo (Most Dedicated Awards)

Power Lifting – Abbie Beckett (Best Lifter), Abbey Charron (Most Dedicated)

North Star High School congratulates athletic finest

By Ron Giofu

27 views0 comments


bottom of page